cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ACI Design Recommendations.

NETAD
Level 4
Level 4

Hi guys, we decided to deploy ACI for our dev/qa/stg environment and possibly roll it out to prod. I'm new to the concepts but I'm trying to get up to speed with it.

here's an overview of what we currently have. 

3 /16 subnets one for each of dev, qa, and stg Plus a DB subnet

dev/qa/stg L3 SVI's are on a virtual domain on a fortigate and the DB's are on a different vdom on the same firewall. So pretty much access and policy is controlled on the firewalls.

Security policy allows dev to dev qa to qa and stg to stg communication no inter communications between the 3 

the problem that arised was the amount of policies that we had to create on the firewall because unlike an ASA a Fortigate doesn't allow communication between vlan interfaces and a policy is needed everytime connection is needed. This became a nightmare and so we got thr ACI 

2 9336 for spine

2 9372 for leafs and of course 3 APIC controllers

what I have in my head is to create 3 tenant for each of dev/qa/stg 

create an EPGs for lets say the websevers within dev tenant as well as for apps and DBs and set contracts between 

And in case of a layer 4 or 7 device inspection or load balancing is needed we can accomplish that using a service graph.

Not sure on how to used bridge domains, should I use them one per vlan per EPG or put multiple vlans in it.

note that I will be grouping vlans in the EPGs. And a UCS chassis will be hosting the vms.

I dont know how clear I made this but please let me know if you need clarifications.

Thanks

17 Replies 17

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Welcome to ACI!

Sounds like ACI is a perfect fit to help relieve some of the challenges you're detailing.  Hopefully you've read the ACI Fundamentals & Design Guides, but I think you're on the right track.