Views
Helpful
Replies

ACI config - xml script

nileshgore25
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

1) is there any tool available to generate xml scripts for ACI configuration (tenant, BD, EPG, etc.) ?

intention is to post the xml scripts at appropriate location for ACI configuration.

2) when i right click and "save as" the xml script that is downloaded does not maintain the indentation and formatting. Is there any way to get those scripts in right indentation and format ?

I am still learning the MIT and objects and classes hierarchy. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi @nileshgore25,

You will find alot of examples out there and there are many ways to automate ACI.

@RedNectar Chris already described one, and quite a powerful one at that.

I'm not a fan of the CobraSDK so I'll share some other ways to do this so you get a full picture.

I work on ACI via python scripts using the requests module and via Ansible.  If I'm doing something highly customized I'll use python because I have all of that build already.   Ansible has lots of modules ready to go including a rest module and so for one off things I'll go that route.   A common workflow for me is to build out the Data Center via Python and then "tune" with Ansible and mostly the REST module.

I also spend time using POSTMAN to validate the payloads I'm pushing to ACI and so I have some examples for you to look at with Postman.  The Postman collection is here.   Its pretty basic and does not have all the objects and relationships you need for a functioning network but its just enough to illustrate the examples.

Note: you can disregard the MACOS folder.   Thats just an indication that the work was done on a Mac.

When you are updating specific "children" in ACI you will need to pay attention to the MIT and the relationships.