cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ACI Tenant / VRF / L3Out Choices

Alex Moore
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I am new to ACI, and currently trying to figure out how best to achieve my goals in terms of the high-level constructs, and could do with some advice/guidance. I have been reading numerous guides, but am still a little unsure whether what I am hoping to do makes sense & if I am going about it the right way.

I would like to create two distinct partitions within the network ("prod" and "test"), and am thinking that the right approach would be to define two tenants to achieve that. Each subnet and VLAN defined in ACI (I am likely to take the BD = VLAN = EPG approach) will either belong to one tenant or the other, however there will need to be a lot of cross-tenant connectivity, and no need for overlapping addresses, so I imagine it makes sense to have a single shared VRF defined in the common tenant (to avoid having to configure route-leaking), but to have individual BDs & EPGs configured in their respective tenants. Does that sound reasonable?

I would also like each tenant to have its own separate L3 Out. Each L3 Out will provide connectivity to the same external networks, however I'd like the "prod" tenant to only use its L3 Out to reach the external networks, and the "test" tenant to only use its L3 Out. Similarly, I'd like the "prod" tenant's networks to only be advertised externally only over its L3 Out, and the "test" tenant's networks to only be advertised externally over its L3 Out. Is that how it will work if I define an L3 Out in each tenant, despite the fact everything is using the same shared VRF?