cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ACI trunk connection to Switch 2960 and VLANs

jmaurer101
Level 1
Level 1

I’m new to ACI. So where I’m at, I have connected up 2 Leafs in VPC to my 2960 switch. By that I am able to see is CDP traffic on the 2960 to the leafs. What I’m not getting is how do I get the VLAN on the 2960 to the ACI environment? I’ve looked up tons of documents but I’m not really finding anything to show how to configure both devices.  I would assume the 2960 is like normal trunk configuration with the allowed VLANs, 20,40,50,2001.  But what is the configuration inside ACI? With Nexus it’s pretty simple create your VLANs, Interface vlan ## IP Address, create vPC apply to interface configure other end and done but this new way of programming and clicking and waiting throw the GUI is seeming like way more work then before. Then this simple connecting a switch from IDFs to Out of Band management seems like a headache.

And help or examples would be awesome. Also is there an ACI simulator to testing and learning more. 

Thanks. 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @jmaurer101 

You have two options basically: extend the EPG or extend the BD.

My recommendation is to go for the EPG extension. By that I mean simply configure the vlan as static path in EPG.

You have an example here: https://aci-lab.ciscolive.com/lab/pod2/tenants/create-l2-ap

For ACI practice, you can download the ACI simulator (available on cisoc software download page) and also I would recommend for watching some of the ciscolive presentations (all of them available for free).

Stay safe,

Sergiu

View solution in original post

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Could be a number of different issues.  Are you learning any MACs on the Leaf port connected to the 2960?

1. Check the tagging between the 2960 & Leaf.  Are you allowing VLAN 10 on the trunk going to the Leaf?  Did you tag the EPG Static Path binding as "Trunk VLAN 10" ?