Views
Helpful
Replies

EPG learning IP addresses outside it's BD

jacksonkwok
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am still learning my way through the ACI, just want some help with regard to EPG learning IP addresses outside it's BD. Our ACI setup is 1 subnet per BD and 1 BD is associated with 1 EPG. I was migrating a host physically from our old network to ACI yesterday, for this particular host, I created a new BD and EPG for it. For the BD, I believe I might have left the "Limit IP learning to subnet" unchecked before I added in the subnet details and enabled unicast routing.

The migrated host (private address) was pingable for a short time after the migration and then went offline, what I also noticed at the time was hosts in other EPG(therefore BD) also start to lost connectivity (can't ping from the rest of the network). I had a very brief time to troubleshoot and when I went into the EPG, I discovered that particular host's MAC address have a lot of random IP against it, some of them are our public IP addresses (which are in a different physical location and not on ACI).

My first question is that, any idea why the MAC address is somehow associated with so many different random IP addresses that don't relate to this system at all? Is this MAC and IP association same as ARP?

At the time, I have checked the other EPGs that have their subnet and unicast enabled on ACI, it seems that some hosts also lost their previously learnt IP addresses.

Once I rolled back the change by removing the subnet from the BD and the static port binding on the EPG, everything came right. I then tried to do this change again 2 hours later this time with "Limit IP learning to subnet" enabled first, everything seems to work without any issues.

I just learnt this morning that the sys admin was seeing alot of alerts for many other systems losing connectivity during the 1st attempt of that particular host migration.