cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help the total Noob,intra EPG with VLAN based EPG's

daz_efx_2000
Level 1
Level 1

Please can someone help with this LAB, I have the following topology shown in the Left hand side I am trying to set up the Tenant as shown in the top right, Once setup as shown EPG-b to EPG-c can communicate but not EPG-a to EPG-b. I believe this topology should be possible. After many mouse clicks I Found the only way I could get the topology to work is by setting it up as per the topology in the bottom right.

How can I get the first topology in the top right to work?

Also please can someone confirm or deny the following statement:

"In ACI you cannot base an EPG on more than one VLAN i.e If you want to base EPG assignment by defining the VLAN a host resides in, you can only specify one VLAN per EPG."

Thanks

ACI Noob

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The problem is the Source MAC used by the 4500.  If you look at the Endpoint detail, you see the same MAC address is learned for the "endpoint" in the Gamma_Corp_EPG as well as Beta_Customer_EPG.  We'd essentially be trying to learn the same endpoint in two different EPGs - which would cause it to bounce.  All 3 of your EPG endpoints will share the same MAC.

Anytime you try to use a L3 Switch as a "test host" issues like this will come up.  ACI knows its not an endpoint due to CDP/LLDP information as well (and will treat the port differently).  Ex. When using an L3 Routed Interface as a test "endpoint" often we'll learn the MAC of the CDP packets and use that for endpoint learning, rather than the interface MAC.  It requires that CDP/LLDP be turned off when trying to use a routed interfaces in place of an actual test host endpoint.

On your 4500 take a look at "show int vlan XX | i address" and you should see duplicate MACs.  On some Catalyst platforms you can manually assign a unique MAC to an SVI with:
switch(config)#interface vlan X
switch(config-if)#mac-address 0007.0001.0001