Views
Helpful
Replies

How can VM to VM traffic be controlled by ACI

Raoul07
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

I am new to Cisco ACI and wanted to know how can I control VM to VM traffic using Cisco ACI. If we deploy vDS from Cisco ACI, I believe we will have full visibility to the VM traffic but what if we are not allowed to manage or deploy the vDS from ACI? Can I still manage the CM traffic ? Can you please provide/guide me to the right info/URL which explains about the virtual switch including the types 

and differences between them. 

Appreciate your response.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Like I said above:

Note: If they are on the same Port Group, then traffic will traverse between the VMs even before it leaves the ESXi host - you clearly have no control over that

so the key is to get the VMs into different EPGs - and that will require some co-operation from the VMWare team, no matter what solution you use.

Now if you can achieve get VMWare team to put hosts on different PortGroups, then traffic can be controlled bu ACI.  In you case, it would seem that the simplest way would be to find out which VLAN correspondes to which port group and map each VLAN to an ACI EPG.

Back to your last question:

So that leads me to a conclusion that unless I deploy an AVS or AVE in the hypervisor, VM to VM traffic within the same host cannot be controlled by ACI.

Am I right?

You are right if both VMs are in the same Portgroup/VLAN. If you can manage to get hosts put into different Portgroups/VLANs then you can control the traffic with ACI, without using AVS/AVE or even DVS. 

RedNectar aka Chris Welsh.
Forum Tips: 1. Paste images inline - don't attach. 2. Always mark helpful and correct answers, it helps others find what they need.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

RedNectar
VIP
VIP

HiRaoul07,

You have a perfectly classic example of exactly what ACI was designed to do with ease. Imagine you have two VMs called VM_A and VM_B