Views
Helpful
Replies

Properties of L3Out

aloysius.liu
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, 

I'm new in ACI and has one question in regard to the basic property of ACI L3Out. I know that multiple L3Outs configured can talk to each other via route-leaking if they are in different vrf and contracts if there are in the same vrf. Are there such properties for one L3 out associating to multiple end devices via multiple leaves ? One example is that you have a pair of leaves connecting to a pair of ASA firewall while the other pair of leaves connecting to another pair of remote routers. Can these be connected via one L3Out ?

Thanks

Aloysius Liu 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

joezersk
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Aloysius.  The short answer to your question is yes, you can have more than one peering or adjacency on a given L3out.  The longer answer is this.  Think of the L3Out as equivalent to a routing process.  As long as all your routing peers are using the same protocol (like OSPF for example) and general policy, you can specify many links, peers or adjacencies under the same L3out.  You just need to tell the L3out which leaf, interface and IP needs to be used on the ACI side for each one. 

Hope that helps.

-J

View solution in original post

Yes, finally I'm able to lab it out. I'm able to create an L3Out that consists of 2 logical Interfaces profiles each mapping to a pair of configured nodes where static routes are define. You will need to create 2 x L3OutNetwork to signify two external EPGs with applied scope on subnets defined in respective L3OutNetwork so as to apply contracts or the like between the two networks. 

Basically I would consider L3Out as a routing container with one vrf where you can define multiple node profiles & Interface profiles which is equivalent to ports/routes in network configuration layman term and applying the necessary control  and contract on L3OutNetwork.