Views
Helpful
Replies

Shared L3Out in Common?

bcn-jbrooks
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm very new to ACI, but learning as much as I can.  We are in the midst of building up an ACI fabric mostly for lab use, running the latest v2.0 ACI code.

I'm trying to create a Shared L3Out (to the Internet) that all tenants will share.  I have a firewall connected to my ISPs that is connected to the ACI over a vPC.  I have not been able to find much into about how to do this.  Most documentation guides assume that I want to use a "routed interface" (or sub-interface), not a vPC.

This would be simple to do in a traditional network - a small transit network between the firewall and an SVI on the switch, but I can't figure out how to do this on ACI.

Do I need an EPG in the Common tenant for the "vlan" between fabric and firewall, then another EPG that gets Shared to the tenants?

Does anyone have a link to a good tutorial or something?

My mind is officially blown -- and that's after taking several Cisco training courses on ACI... 

Much appreciated!

J

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Tomas de Leon
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Shared L3out feature is supported in ACI firmware version 1.2(1i) or Later.

Yes, I have configured and tested this use case scenario. There are couple of ways for doing this. In my configurations, I tend to configure the different SHARED services in the Tenant COMMON. This is not necessary but for this use case scenario, I configure the SHARED L3OUT in the Tenant COMMON.

Note: this response assumes that you know how to configure an External Routed Network and all of the Routing Protocol configurations necessary to peer to external Routing Gateways.
The External Routed Network L3 Out is configured and exchanging routes with external gateways.

This use case scenario I will use 3 Tenants: Tenant-Common, Tenant-Black, and Tenant-White.

In the tenant Common
- Create a VRF (common-v1)
- Create an External Routed Network (common-l3-ospf)