cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

APIC-EM 1.5 PnP Templates and Bulk Import

casanavep
Level 3
Level 3

Team, sorry for my ignorance.  This is my first attempt at APIC-EM, but I have installed 1.5.0.1368 and added the PnP 1.5.1.35 to it.  This is fully in a lab environment, but trying to get it working for proof of concept.  I have create a full featured router DMVPN spoke configuration with four $Variables build into the template and imported it.  I am able to test the template by filling in the variables via "form view" and see that the correct configuration is built in the "preview" tab.  When I try to manually add a device under a test project, I am able to select template but not pick one of the templates listed under my template tab of the PnP dashboard.  It simply stays at "Showing 0 of 0, Loading" with a perpetually spinning circle.  The same happens if I try to apply a static config vs a template; so, there is issue #1, cannot add devices manually with a static config or template.

Next, I figured I would try to bulk import the devices via CSV vs individually.  I am unable to find an example of a CSV bulk import that calls on a template and its per device variable fields.  Could anyone assist with an example?  Thank you all.  This product appears to have great potential, once I getting it to work!

Respetfully,

P

12 Replies 12

aradford
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

there is no way to "bulk update" template variables.

I have been meaning to write a script to do this..... i probably need to get this done.

Adam

So just to verify, you are saying that there is no way to "bulk import" devices via csv file and specify that those devices are associated with a template, in the same way that you can bulk import based on static configurations in the CSV (APIC-EM -> Network Plug and Play --> Bulk Import Tab -->  Import Button)?  Or is that they can be bulk imported, but just not with association to a template or individual variables for the template?