Helpful
Replies

Help setting up a home lab using Cisco kit and a Virgin Superhub

CCNA_Student8
Level 1
Level 1

my pic

Hi everyone,

I've just started my CCENT course and so I'm trying to create a lab that is segregated from my home LAN, initially using a Virgin Superhub and a Cisco 1841 router.  Please bear in mind that I'm a beginner at this, so it may not make sense or be completely illogical...

The superhub for those that don't know, is a rebranded, restricted netgear VMDG480.  It's essentially a cable modem and wireless router combined.

The normal everyday LAN side of the network was setup by default to receive an IP via DHCP from the superhub in the 192.168.0.1 /24 range.

Initially, I thought I could tidy things in preparation for my lab setup, by configuring the LAN subnet mask on the superhub to /16 and using 192.168.0.0 range for my 'everyday' network and 192.168.1.0 range for my 'home lab'. (Good idea or bad?...)

Unfortunately, I'm unable to do that as the superhub only allows the last octet in the mask to be changed, so I changed the mask and it now reads 255.255.255.128, with the idea that I can still have 2 separate networks.

From the picture above you can see the devices on the right hand side are all connected directly to the superhub and continue to work as normal.

On the left side is where I've introduced a Cisco 1841 router and a laptop to test.

The details of each device are;

Virgin superhub
LAN:192.168.0.1
DHCP scope: 192.168.0.2 - 192.168.0.126

Cisco 1841
Fast Ethernet 0/1: 192.168.0.126

Fast Ethernet 0/0: 192.168.0.129

PC2 (wired laptop connected to FE 0/0)
IP: 192.168.0.200
Default Gateway: 192.168.0.126 (Cisco 1841's IP address)

Would someone be so kind as to review this and tell me where I'm going wrong please?

I thought about ripping out the superhub completely but I'm tied to it by my ISP :(

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi,