cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco DNA center integration with Aruba wireless (AP and controllers) and Aruba Clearpass(NAC)

Asfandyar70754
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone

Does Cisco DNA center integrates with Aruba WLC/APs and Aruba Clearpass ?

I have seen that ISE can be integrated with Aruba WLC, but is it possible to use Aruba Clearpass instead of Cisco ISE in Cisco DNAC?

I am studying Cisco SD Access and I was curious if it is possible to use Aruba WLC & Clearpass with Cisco DNAC?

6 Replies 6

inderdeeps
Level 4
Level 4

You can integrate your WLC's with DNAC as third party device but Aruba Clearpass can't be integrated with Cisco DNAC as a NAC solution to authenticate devices within Fabric. Although basic TACACS or RADIUS feature can be used thats what I saw in most of the cases.

Regards

Inderdeep Singh

www.thenetworkdna.com 

willwetherman
Spotlight
Spotlight

Just to add to this discussion,

You can add a non-ISE/third-party RADIUS server to DNAC for authenticating administrative access to DNAC itself and managed network devices, as well as for endpoint authentication/authorisation in SD-Access. For SD-Access, you can assign SGTs to endpoints that connect to the Fabric Edge nodes by returning a Cisco-AVPair directly from the third-party RADIUS server, however ISE is still needed for Group-Based policy. See below for further details. 

https://community.cisco.com/t5/networking-documents/how-to-use-group-based-policies-with-3rd-party-radius-using/ta-p/3930041 

You can also authenticate endpoints using the third-party RADIUS server alone without ISE, however you will lose the ability to implement micro-segmentation (TrustSec) which is one of the primary advantages/foundational elements of the SD-Access solution. You also lose other features such as contextual data of authenticated endpoints in DNA Center Assurance.