cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DNA Center as a Network Management Platform - Cisco Prime Infrastructure - DNA Licensing

Hi Cisco Community, 

I am new to all DNA stuffs. I've purchased a bunch of C9200L-E (with the mandatory DNA Licence of 3 years for each) to add to my current architecture composed mainly of 2960X.

As these new switches integrate an existing architecture with non-SDA switches, I use them as "traditional" switches, meaning I do not run SDA on these. Nevertheless, I'm interested in purchasing a professional Network Management Platform. 

From what I read, Cisco DNA Center (as a Network Management Platform, not as a SDA Controller) is becoming the new Cisco Prime Infrastructure. What would be the pros and cons of chosing DNAC over PI as a Network Management Platform?

DNAC appliance are expensive, so is it worth it buying one to do only Network Management, and not get benefits from its SDA Controller capabilities?

Final question, if I use the DNAC only as a Network Management Platform, will I need to renew the DNA License on my switches when it expired, or is this DNA license only mandatory when using DNAC as SDA Controller? Furthermore, can I integrate 2960X on the DNAC Network Management Platform (as they are incompatible with SDA, I prefer asking)?

Thanks a lot for your help !

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Preston Chilcote
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

This is a great question for your sales team, but I'll present a few highlights of what Cisco DNA Center can do for non-SDA networks

- Automate device deployment ("day-0 provisioning").  This could come in handy for your cat9k deployment.

- Automate legacy configs ("day-N provisioning").  Even your existing devices need config updates once in awhile.  With day-N provisioning templates, you can easily make sure that all the devices get configured the same way, and at the same time.  Saves time and headaches.