cancel
Announcements

AMA-CUCM Troubleshooting: Best Practices for Reading Trace Files

How Do I RTFM When There Is No FMTR?

Views
Helpful
Comments
Contributor

For those working in technology, we love our acronyms don't we?  I'm also a military veteran meaning I have an even greater love of acronyms, or a love/hate relationship with them.  Not because I dislike a good acronym, but because there are so many that are created in the work environment (some quite clever) that it's difficult to keep up.  It's not just acronyms, but all sorts of terminology that appear throughout the workplace and while we each have an idea of what they mean, they don't always mean what we think they mean.  As evidenced by this inconceivable montage.

We know that documentation is important, but at the same time we expect the applications and processes we use to be so intuitive that documenting them is, for the most part, unnecessary.  We never do get that lucky.  There are two good rules for documentation:

1. Keep it simple
  2. Keep it current

There is also an exception to these rules and the exception is "there are exceptions to these rules".  Much like over 90% of code is error checking, 90% of documentation is what to do and how, with a small percentage dealing with exceptions.  How do we get past this and ensure our corporate documentation is useful to those who take the time to read it? 

There are two topics of workplace documentation that are critical to smooth operations.  One is a common terminology, a master dictionary of nomenclature if you will.  Including all the acronyms that clever people create at the workplace.  Second is detailing processes and the applications used in those processes while incorporating your enterprise language.  Detailing visually is a great way of keeping it simple.  When you can show a screenshot of where to click, or a live video of the mouse pointer moving and clicking, it's so much easier to grasp then trying to explain with words only.