cancel
Views
Helpful
Comments
ciscomoderator
Community Manager
Community Manager

Interview with Aaron Harrison

A principal engineer with Logicalis in the U.K., Aaron Harrison visits Cisco Support Community when he receives email notification that someone has posted in a Unified Communications forum.  He says, “If you post a question, it’s very likely you’ll receive a good response more quickly than if you had opened a TAC case.”

BACKGROUND

Q. How did you get involved in the networking industry?

A. I began my IT career with a company in U.K., providing support for servers and desktops. We were one of the first companies in the U.K. to deploy Cisco CallManager, and I was intrigued. That inspired me to move to work for a Cisco partner and study for my CCIE Voice certification, which I received in 2004.

Q. What’s your current role?

A. I joined Logicalis in 2006. We’re a Cisco Gold Certified Partner covering the full Cisco product portfolio. I’m a principal engineer specializing in Unified Communications and contact centers, acting as part of a small team that works with high-end projects. Our team also resolves technical problems that have been escalated.

CHALLENGE

Q. What challenges influenced you to use the Cisco Support Community?

A. I started visiting the Cisco Support Community when I began studying for the CCIE Voice exam. At the time, only 50 people had passed the voice exam, and study materials were rare. My approach to studying was reading posts to see what problems people were experiencing. If I knew the answer, I responded, and if I didn’t, I’d build a lab to learn the answer.

Q. How do you take advantage of Cisco Support Community today?

A. I’ve signed up to receive email notifications when someone posts to a Unified Communications forum, and respond if I have something to contribute. I typically visit multiple times a day, including weekends!

Q. How does Cisco Support Community compare to other support resources you use?