cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Ip Communicator randomly crashing then booting finesse off

gabecubano14
Level 1
Level 1

Hello.  I've got a very interesting situation going on at my workplace.  I am an IT tech here for onsite support.  I started here in late may and have heard of finesses issues ever since i've been here.  Finesse seems to have more than one issue for each user who uses it but the main issue is people are randomly getting booted off the finesse server and are having to sign back into it.  There is one rare case where i have a user where his cisco ip softphone will crash on him and then his finesse gets booted out.  He reboots his machine to get things back working.  For the cisco app crashing i originally looked on here months back and found that there were windows 10 compatibility issues.  I believe he was on W10 version 1607 or 1703 before.  I had to update him to version 1803 for another application to work properly here.  Once that upgrade was done is when his app started crashing i believe.  However the finesse drop has been happening to him and other users no matter what OS they have, whether it be Windows 7 or 10.  Here i've done extensive research on the data side of the network here with help from the network team and we can't find what causes that problem.  Bandwidth wise, everything looks good even when the cisco crashes of finesse issues happens.  Here we have 2 internet circuits, one for general internet and one for applications, etc.  I am thinking it is the VOIP side of the network but the analysts need details which some users will be logging information for me so i can give them those details.  I don't believe physical cabling is the problem here.  A manager i've talked with says getting booted off of finesse is "uncommmon, but still happens".  So in my opinion which i've shared with the analysts for the network, i believe it's a VOIP issue or config issue.  I'm not sure if the cisco ip app and finesse are similar in any way in