Views
Helpful
Replies

Finesse Gadget Doesn't work on Agent Browsers

rbroersm
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm new to finesse gadgets.  I've written a simple gadget that does a makerequest to an API that logs a phone number (used for outbound dialer exclusions).  This all works great on my laptop, but when i tested on the agent laptop it seems like the js code is not being envoked.  I'm hosting the gadget on an IIS server and the layout for the agents is exactly the same as it is for me.  We validated to make sure that IE is enabled for javascript and also have been using the ?nocache parameter on the finesse URL to make sure we're grabbing the latest code.  I may try moving the gadget into finesse, but it's a little simpler to host it externally during dev and QA.  I'm hoping someone has run into something like this in the past and can help me out.  Everyone is on IE11.

Thanks,

Ryan.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

cdelgran
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Ryan - Do each of your IE11 users involved in the testing have the same Compatibility View setting (either ON or OFF)?

If there are differences here, that could be the distinction.

From the IE Settings menu (gear icon), select "Compatibility View Settings"

compatibility_view.png

If any of your agents have this checkbox active, Finesse 11 and beyond will force the IE browser into IE=8 rendering mode. Without the the checkbox inactive, it will render everything in IE=edge mode.

To confirm, view the source of your finesse login page and check the header for one of the following:

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge" />

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8" />

While out-of-box Finesse works well in either mode, we have found that some of our custom gadgets will simply fail to load if IE=8 is the current setting.

note: I realize Ryan posted this in Nov and has probably long since fixed his problem, but posting this here for the benefit of others as well.