Views
Helpful
Replies

Integrating Finesse and IM/P Availability

Mike Hagans
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Anyone ever integrated these? I'm trying to sync the availability between Finesse and Jabber. If a user is in Not Ready, their Jabber will show DND and if they're in a ready state, jabber will show available. I'm having a hard time locating the REST API for the IM/P server to send GET requests to poll availability. Granted, I am a little new to this... I have the REST API for UCCX but so far, it looks like I can only get the availability for one user, is there a way to get this for ALL logged in users?

Thanks for any comments. I've been in the IM/P Developer Guide and will continue to read on..

11 Replies 11

dekwan
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

I am not familiar with the IM/P REST APIs, but you may want to ask in the Jabber forum.

How are you planning on building this integration? Is it an application that monitors everyone and sets the state for everyone? Or is this integration going to be on the agent's desktop?

Finesse is not a monitoring application so there isn't a way to monitor the state for all logged in users. It does have a REST API to get the list of all users and their state, but this can only be accessed with an administrator user. A supervisor can get events for the users in their team, but not ALL logged in users.

I would suggest that your integration happens on each individual agent desktop since the desktop already knows the state of the agent.

My suggestion below is assuming that you were able to figure out the Jabber REST API to set the Jabber state. What application are the agents using for their desktop? I will give a suggestion for two possible scenarios:

1) The Finesse out of the box agent desktop

If the agents are using the Finesse out of the box desktop, you can build a custom gadget that calls the Jabber REST API when the user changes their agent state. You can use the ExternalRestApiSampleGadget as a base.