cancel
Showing results forĀ 
Search instead forĀ 
Did you mean:Ā 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

One Calling Search Space to rule them all?

Hi everybody!

I'm new in this whole CUCM conļ¬guration, and something the immense number of options, setting, elements and others CUCM has are overhelming!!

Today I noticed the many, many places where we can set a Calling Search Space (CSS) and I would like to know if CSS set somewhere prevails over

another.

This is where I have found the option to set a CSS

• Device Pool -> Device Mobility Related Information (Device Mobility Calling Search Space)
  • Device Pool -> Device Mobility Related Information (
  • End User (SUBSCRIBE Calling Search Space)
  • Phone (Calling Search Space)
  • Directory Number (Calling Search Space)
  • Directory Number -> "Call Fonuard and Call Pickup Settings" (Calling Search Space)

Most probably this field should be somewhere else, but this is when I got really confused.

Fore example a Phone can be related with a DN, with a Device Pool, with an End User.... each of this this four elements, can be assigned with a different CSS.

Now, if for example I want to allow or restrict a international call (based on the CSS) where be the best place to do it?

Do I need to change the CSS everywhere?

Thank you!!

3 Replies 3

Gergely Szabo
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

most of the parameters - including Calling Search Spaces - may be configured at multiple places.

There is one important thing to remember, though: if a parameter is not set for a certain entity, it might be still applied - using the parameter value at a lower level.

So if CSS is not set at the Line level, the CSS set at the Device level is applied (in other words, if no CSS is set on the Directory Number page, then the CSS set at the Phone Device level is applied).

That's the easy part.