cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Why UCCE is not moved to Linux ?

eslam rizk
Level 4
Level 4

This Days i am studying UCCE as I Moved to New Company which is Contact Center Provider.

and i was surprised when i knew that UCCE as Product is Based on Windows 
but after some time thinking about that , i remembered that CUCM and UCCX was Based on windows in the Past , but now Cisco Moved it to be on top on Linux OS , and few Years ago They also Announce about Finesse and Now VVB .
So , All Components now or Almost is Linux Based except CVP and UCCE  
which Make Cisco Engineers focus more on the Application itself . 

instead of Diving with the Problems related to the OS itself specially when this OS is Windows 
I Wanna Know the Reasons that Prevent Cisco from Moving this Last Two Components to Linux 

If its Something Related to the Application itself or What ?

I Searched about any Topic that may talk about this Point , but unfortunately, Couldn't find anything related .
Thanks 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Chris Deren
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

If I was guessing it will take long time or never for ICM to be moved to Appliance based as it is so dependent on MSFT AD. CVP theoretically should be doable without much re-architecture and that might be on the horizon, but I would imagine as with everything else it would come down to benefits vs. cost. You cannot compare the CUCM, CCX to UCCE as those are separate BUs within Cisco.

AFAIK moving to Applicate at this point is not high on the list of roadmap, so you have to live with what you have :-)

View solution in original post

Omar Deen
Spotlight
Spotlight