cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel

VXC 6215 Factory Reset

330
Views
0
Helpful
0
Comments

Performing a Factory Reset

There are multiple methods available to perform a factory reset:

  1. When logged in with HIGH privileges (admin).  Gnome Control Center -> Device Settings -> Advanced -> Factory Reset
  2. G-key - Hold the 'g' key on the keyboard while the device is booting.
  3. Touch /etc/NEED_FACTORY_RESET

What Happens During a Factory Reset

Summary

The following items are reset to defaults:

  1. User passwords (admin, thinuser, guest)
  2. Time Zone & Time Server Configuration
  3. Cached INI file(s)
  4. User Customizations
  5. Installed Printers
  6. Network Manager Settings
  7. Update.mode = Both, Update.preserve_changes = No, Force Update = No
  8. G-Key Reset set to 1 (Allowed)
  9. Registry (Persistent and Saved)


Full Reset Process

A factory reset occurs during the boot process.  When the device is signalled to perform a factory reset (using one of the above methods), the `/etc/init.d/boot.factory_reset` script is run.

Here's a breakdown of that script:

Command(s)Explanation
rm -fr /etc/userlevel/home
mkdir /etc/userlevel/home
Reset /etc/userlevel/home

Reset passwords

Reset Time Zone

Reset Time Server

Reset Registry

































Delete Cached INI


Delete Cached User Information


Delete monitors.xml


Delete Cached INI


Reset Update Preferences




Delete printers


Reset Network Manager settings




Enable g-key reset

Content for Community-Ad