cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 93180ycfx native fc support

Skevich17
Level 1
Level 1

Hi! I'm new to nexus and dc. Does nexus 9k has a native fc support? I need to connect it to couple of 3par storages and 2 servers. If it doesn't, can I connect it with FCoE and fc sfps?

Thanks in advance! 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @Skevich17 

Here is a table with Nexus 9000 models and what feature they support (FC, FCoE etc):

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus9000/sw/93x/fcoe/configuration/guide/b-cisco-nexus-9000-nx-os-fcoe-npv-configuration-guide-933/m-n9000-fc-npv-fcoe-npv-supported-hardware.html 

As listed, only N9K-C93180YC-FX and N9K-C93360YC-FX2 are the only 2 N9K supporting native FC.

For more details about FC/FCoE configuration, guidelines, licensing etc, I would suggest this config guide:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus9000/sw/93x/san_switching/configuration/guide/b-cisco-nexus-9000-nx-os-san-switching-configuration-guide-933/m-n9000-san-s-enabling-feature-fcoe.html 

Stay safe,

Sergiu

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @Skevich17 

Here is a table with Nexus 9000 models and what feature they support (FC, FCoE etc):

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus9000/sw/93x/fcoe/configuration/guide/b-cisco-nexus-9000-nx-os-fcoe-npv-configuration-guide-933/m-n9000-fc-npv-fcoe-npv-supported-hardware.html 

As listed, only N9K-C93180YC-FX and N9K-C93360YC-FX2 are the only 2 N9K supporting native FC.

For more details about FC/FCoE configuration, guidelines, licensing etc, I would suggest this config guide:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus9000/sw/93x/san_switching/configuration/guide/b-cisco-nexus-9000-nx-os-san-switching-configuration-guide-933/m-n9000-san-s-enabling-feature-fcoe.html 

Stay safe,

Sergiu

Thank you very much!