cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

[vCenter 4.0] Migrating VC SQL database...anything to do with Nexus 1000v ?

Hi all,

We need to move our VC SQL Database from Express 2005 to SQL 2008 Entreprise. I have found the following KB on VMware to do the migration : http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1028601

I am fine with the VMware part, however I don't know if there is anything to do on the Nexus 1000v. Following the VMware KB, I must reinstall vCenter services to perform the migration properly. Although I am using the same database as before (therefore VC settings will remain), same VC IP and hostname, do I need to do something special with the Nexus 1K since I am reinstalling VC services ?

I am still learning the Nexus 1K. Unfortunately, the tech who installed it in our environment is not working with us anymore so we have to learn from scratch.

Thanks for your advices,

Guillaume.

3 Replies 3

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

If the VC Database, hostname, IP are all staying the same there's nothing you should have to do in regards to the 1000v.  The extension key used by the 1000v will be contained within the VC database, and since all other host resources are staying the same, the 1000v should have no issues reconnecting once VC is reinstalled and the DB restored. 

What I would suggest is right before you start the reinstall of vCenter, is that you shut down the VSMs (both primary and secondary).  This will ensure the VSM doesn't try to reconnect to VC before the Database has been restored.   Once the VC reinstall and DB restoration is complete, and hosts are showing connected as normal - then power back up the VSMs.