Views
Helpful
Replies

VXLAN BGP EVPN - Why VLAN for L3 VNI?

blazarov86
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Team,

While I understand the concept of VXLAN and particularly BGP EVPN control plane which i like very much, there is something that is bugging me for some time.

Why do we need to create a VLAN and an SVI (interface VLAN XXX with no ip address and "ip forwarding") for each L3 VNI (tenant VRF)? It looks to me more like a "glitch" in the inner workings of IOS-XE/CLI/etc.., rather than fundamental technology requirement.

I have no experience with VXLAN on other vendors, but based on quick online research for (say) Arista, it seems that you don't need a VLAN for each VRF. 

Having a VLAN for L2 VNI makes perfect sense of course no question there.

Am i missing something here?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The reason is because vxlan is layer2 only, and to use layer3 the routing needs a destination/nexthop. So the nexthop of the routing part is to the vrf , which needs a mac address as a nexthop since vxlan is layer2, and the device provides that by using a vlan interface and vlan id.

The reason it needs a vlan is because it's a switch. If it's a router it can use a different target (routers have much higher capability of interface targets i.e. bridge groups.  They don't use vlans as much as pushing a popping tags so the 4k vlan limitation is not there).

Switches only have space for the 4k vlans in their table and the IRB interface (SVI) uses one of these targets.