cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

C160 Noob - Exchange 2003

phershey
Level 1
Level 1

I confess, I'm a complete newbie as far as our C160 goes.  We had one in here months ago as a trial for outbound DLP.  When we were finished with it, since it takes months to get $$$ approved sometimes, I saved off the configuration.  I've now loaded that config into a new C160.  What I cannot find are the notes I kept on the Exchange 2003 server setup.  It seems to me that the C160 must have been configured as a smart host for the virtual SMTP server, or as a smart host for the SMTP connector, or perhaps both.  I've tried the 3 combinations, but messages just pile up in the SMTP queue.

What obvious setting am I overlooking that's going to cause me a huge "Doh!" moment?    Is it perhaps I'm not restarting the proper services after saving the smart host settings?

Thanks.

Phil

6 Replies 6

Andreas Mueller
Level 4
Level 4

Hello Phil,

is it probably because because you have not commited any changes? You usually don't restart services individually, a hit on the commit button will do that for you if nessesary. Also, any error messages by the Exchange server that tries to deliver messages to the IronPort? Did you add the Exchange server in a RELAYLIST that allows relaying outbound to the Internet?

Regards,

Andreas

Thanks for the response, Andreas.

"No Changes Pending" is the status on the C160.  After bringing the replacement C160 up to date on all system upgrades (it's running 7.1.3-010), I loaded the saved configuration that had been working.  Both our email servers are in the RELAYLIST, by both specific IP address and a subnet/CIDR range entry. 

No errors on the Exchange server.  Message just accumulate in the queues, both for outbound and internal mail between servers.