cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ESA - How to remove [EXTERNAL] for incoming emails?

jamie6910
Level 1
Level 1

Hey guys. I am having trouble on how to remove the [External] from an incoming emails? Is there any possible way to create a condition to only remove the [External] for any emails reply to "@popcorn.com.my"
 only. As attached is the rule and condition for my filter.

I am very new with this Cisco ESA environment. Hope can have a firm explanation.  

10 Replies 10

Do you know if your ESA is adding those stamps, or are they hitting the ESA with that in the subject line?

Are both thing is different? I am not sure about that. Do you have any work around of these situation you mentioned?

If the mail is being stamped as external by the ESA, you just turn that off...
If its coming in from some other system that's stamping it as external, you create a content filter or message filter to modify subjects with external in it.
The easiest way to tell is to go to an external email provider (yahoo, gmail, whatever), send yourself an email with a distinctive subject.
Then in the ESA gui, go to Monitor/Message Tracking and search for that email. Click on Show Details on the right and it will show a bunch of detail as the mail gets processed by the ESA.
Look for "original subject on injection"... that will tell you if it CAME in stamped or if the ESA is stamping it.

Oh i see. I will try this first.

@Ken Stieers wrote:
Then in the ESA gui, go to Monitor/Message Tracking and search for that email. Click on Show Details on the right and it will show a bunch of detail as the mail gets processed by the ESA.
Look for "original subject on injection"... that will tell you if it CAME in stamped or if the ESA is stamping it.

On this workaround, can we also detect where the EXTERNAL being stamped?

Maybe... it depends on how it was done, and if someone added logging for it.

Hi Ken,