cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Viewing message filters "raw"

T Mac
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to Ironport and AsyncOS. Is it possible to view and perhaps edit a message filter in its entirety, that shows very clearly how the filter is constructed?

That is, I want to see something that looks like the actual code that the filter is using, not the "logical representation" of it that is all I've found in the CLI so far. I want to see the sequence of ANDs, ORs, ==, regexes and so on.

Our two appliances are clustered, so if there are some commands that I need to issue to ensure I see the cluster configuration, please specify those as well.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Robert Sherwin
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Keep in mind - that message filters are CLI only.

Please see the Advanced Guide, there is an in-detail section for message filters provided.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps10154/products_user_guide_list.html

Content filters from the web GUI can show you the context you may be looking for.

Mail Policies -> Incoming Content Filters

Mail Policies -> Outgoing Content Filters

Content filters overview can be located in the Email Configuration Guide.

From the content filter, adding a new filter - you will be able to choose and select the conditions and actions.  As you create them, based on the criteria you select, it will give you a good feel for "contains", "equals", "does not contain", "does not equal".

As for the cluster configuration.  For message filters, you can view how these are set from running 'Filters', and then:

- CLUSTERSET - Set how filters are configured in a cluster.

- CLUSTERSHOW - Display how filters are configured in a cluster.

'CLUSTERSHOW' will give you the best view as to if the filters apply to machine only, or cluster:

Ex.:

filters Settings

================

Configured at mode:

Cluster: Yes

Group Main_Group: No

Machine esa_a: No

Machine esa_b: No