Views
Helpful
Replies

Enable "enable" on ASA 5506-X with FIREPOWER

amwamba
Level 1
Level 1

Hello:

I am new to Cisco, pardon my little knowledge. I've acquired an ASA 5506-X with FIREPOWER and I've asked a friend to help configure it. We're not able to enter "enable-mode" when we connect to the console. We are using the USB port on the device. I thought it was related to licensing but I got a license and all the security features show enabled on the GUI. How do I access "enable-mode" so that I can run some configuration commands from the prompt?

Thanks,

Mwamba

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Most likely you have the Firepower Threat Defense (FTD) image. With FTD you must do all configuration (except for initial setup and a VERY limited set of commands) from the GUI - either the on-box Firepower Device Manager or a remote Firepower Management Center.

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

CAR IT
Level 1
Level 1

If it's a fresh image, the enable password is blank. You should be able to type enable, hit enter and when it asks for a password, hit enter again. Once you're in enable mode, go into global configuration mode with config t then issue enable secret <whatever password you want to use>. Then either type exit or hit Ctrl-Z to get out of configuration mode.

FYI, the "secret" part of the command encrypts the password so it's not just sitting there in plaintext when someone runs show running-config.

Once you get out of enable and re-enter with the newly established password, you should wr mem

Interestingly, there is no "enable" command on this device. I thought I was doing sometime wrong but a friend of mine checked it and saw the same thing. The only advanced mode I've seen is via the command "expert" which opens a prompt for bash commands and not config commands.

Let me know if you may need more info about the device.

Thanks