Views
Helpful
Replies

Monitoring with FTD firepower 2100

marcio.tormente
Level 4
Level 4

Hello guys!

I have no experience with FTD firepower and I'm lost with the monitoring.

In the ASA using ASDM I can make monitoring in real time to se where the traffic is blocking or not, but I have no idea how can I do it using Firepower.

Anyone can help me with this case?

Thanks

Marcio

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

phil.hydea
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Marcio

With in the FMC (Firepower Management Center), you can use Analysis > Connection events to filter and drill down on standard connection events that pass through the managed devices.

You can use Analysis > Intrusion Events to assess what is being blocked/monitored by the Snort engine.

Also, if you have the network discovery policy configured to build up host intelligence of your internal protected nodes (Desktops, laptops, servers etc), Analysis > Context Explorer will give you accurate IOCs (Indications of Compromise) and what devices/alerts should be triaged first.

As a general rule of thumb, the Intrusion alerts are rated 1-4 then 0 (1 being critical, 0 being informational). Look at the critical ones first.

The Access Control Policy ties in all the 'sub policies' together (File/Malware, Prefilter (Layer 1-4), Intrusion (> Layer 7), SSL, DNS etc.)

Hope this helps.

Phil

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

phil.hydea
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Marcio

With in the FMC (Firepower Management Center), you can use Analysis > Connection events to filter and drill down on standard connection events that pass through the managed devices.

You can use Analysis > Intrusion Events to assess what is being blocked/monitored by the Snort engine.