cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Allowing FTP through firewall to internal ftp server.

Emil Hz
Level 1
Level 1

Hey all, I have been trying to figure this out today, I have not gotten any further, I am a complete newbie to using the ASA firewall.

On one of our virtual servers in the company, I have set up an FTP server with ISS. I can access it by going through ftp://internal-ip-of-the-server.

I am trying to set up the firewall to allow outside connections to access the FTP server on the virtual server, but without luck, every time I come across a question and an answer on this site (And I have been through a lot) There are long config files that I have no idea what to do with.

I am connecting to the firewall with ASDM.

ASA Version 9.1(2)

ASDM Version 7.1(3)

Device Type ASA 5515

I followed this guide, but I still cannot access the FTP server.

http://www.petenetlive.com/KB/Article/0000772

Again very sorry for my noobish question, I am, as I mentioned, VERY new to this.

Thank you so much for your answers in advance, any help is greatly appreciated.

6 Replies 6

Luke Oxley
Level 1
Level 1
[@ech@eaea.dk],

Thanks for your post - not to worry, the ASA is a complicated piece of equipment. I will get this sorted for you.
What you need to achieve public access to your internal FTP server is a NAT statement and an access control list permitting the traffic. Potentially as little as two lines of configuration, that easy.
I would recommend that you revert any changes you've made on the ASA thus far so we can start afresh. Please let me know what version of ASA your appliance is running, the IP address of the internal FTP server and post a sanitised configuration up. I'll write up and tailor the needed commands to your environment and explain them in detail for you.
I look forward to hearing back.

Kind regards,
Luke

Please rate helpful posts and mark correct answers.