Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5505 9.1 Correct office Global Access rules via ASDM

wchestnutt
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone.

I am pretty new to this networking stuff so please forgive my ignorance.  I have been going thorugh material for days now to try and get up to speed on setting up our small office network which is one job I have been given.

Our small office is using a 5505, and is hosting a web server and an ftp server on seperate inside addresses, with one outside address.  We also have a second outside address which I hope to use for setting up our NAS server.

Now I have set up the NAT rules for my two servers via ASDM, and understand that the top rules are used first. I have set up PAT for the HTTP service on my web server, so any http traffic is sent there first, then the ftp server is catching the rest of the traffic.

This works and both servers are runnign along with my internal computers having net access.  Now my issue is that I have set up Access rules for these services, but they aren't controlling the traffic to any degree, I can turn them off and on and traffic to my servers is still persistent.

I imagine that the issue is that my global access rule is permitting all traffic in and out, and this overrides my service specific rules?

Please see the photos and let me know.  I dont want to dive into the global setting without knowing exactly what I need to change as it is a live network, but if some advice could be given on the proper global access rules to allow my internet computers access to outside, and control the flow of traffic to the webservers that would be greatful!

I am workgin in tyhe ASDM at the moment as this is teh best way for me to visualise what is happening so if any recommendations could be translated into those terms rather at CLI that would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

William. 

5 Replies 5