Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5510-K8 (ver 9.1) to ASA 5516-FPWR-K9 (ver 9.8) Migration

Aberdo
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

I'm planning an ASA hardware migration from a ASA 5510-K8 v9.1(7)23, ADSM v7.5(2)153 to a ASA 5516-FPWR-K9 v9.8(2), ADSM v7.8(2), FirePOWER v6.2.2-81.

I'm pretty new to the ASAs and I would like to get your help/advise for a migration.

Areas of concern (current, but feel free to chime in if I should have something else on my radar)

1) Would I be able to copy/paste the config? Are there any issues with config translation (NAT or ACL) with the sw versions I am running? I believe I'll have to update FirePOWER to a newer version.

2) What do I need to be aware of when migrating from a device that does not have FirePOWER to a device that does use FirePOWER?

3) A primary function of this ASA is to support remote users using AnyConnect.  Are there any special considerations I'll need to take into account?  

Thank you so much in advance.

12 Replies 12

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

That's a relatively straightforward migration.

1. NAT and ACL are OK to paste in as-is. You have to change your interface commands as the numberings is different in the ASA 5510 vs. the ASA 5516-X. 

5510: GigabitEthernet 0/0 through GigabitEthernet 0/3 (assuming Security Plus license)

5516: Gigabit Ethernet 1/1 through Gigabit Ethernet 1/8

2. No big deal. Just add the standard bits on the 5516-X to select interesting traffic and redirect it to the Firepower module for inspection.

3. You need to be sure to migrate over the certificate. Depending on how it was issued, it may be easier to get one re-issued from your CA. (i.e. you will need the certificate private key). Your AnyConnect licenses need to be 4.x to be eligible to migrate them to a new appliance. If you are using a connection profile or a DAP policy you need to be sure to move those files over. Similarly you need to put the AnyConnect client images (pkg files) on the new ASA.