cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA-TMG-CoreSwitch

Leon Khanan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,I need to introduce a TMG inside one of our branches networks so  the default internet traffic pass through TMG and then to the ASA as per  the new standard. I am new to TMG and playing with few  designs on how  to set TMG up as painless as possible  in to the production environment.

My question is this:

As of now  we have ASA firewall  that connects with a trunk to our  core switch. Vlan x.x.x.x used as a core vlan that the core switch and  ASA being managed through also hosting few lync  servers. Right now ASA  does the NATing for outgoing  internet traffic and  several static NATs for servers on VLANx.x.x.x    What i need is to put a TMG in between ASA and the core switch so all  traffic bound for internet will pass through the TMG while still being  able to keep ASAs internal interface  on VLAN X.X.X.X without being worried about routing issues.

My Idea is to create a new L3 vlan on the core switch (192.168.x.x)  and assign it to the  external interface of the TMG, then give the  Internal Interface of the TMG an IP address within the X.X.X  vlan.  But  without PBR on the core switch  i will cause routing issues if i will  put a default route on the  coreswitch for all  0.0.0.0  traffic to the TMG Internal  and on the  same switch  a Static route for all incoming traffic from the ASA   towards the External TMG.  And if i will extend that 192.168 vlan  in to the Trunk  towards the  ASA i will  have to lose the ASAs interface on vlan X.X.X as to not  cause routing issues with traffic going through ASA towards the TMG. So i  am in a pickle here.... 

how do i preserve ASAs X.X.X interface  and route traffic through it to TMG and back ?