cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASDM Traffic Logs

Yves Alob
Level 1
Level 1

I'm fairly new to ASDM so I apologize for this noob question. I need to see what is actually passing through a specific source IP and destination IP, my goal is to identify which specific ports I'm missing on an IP ruleset. My logging is setup to "Debugging" but I can't seem to see what ports are being dropped/allowed whenever I check the Log Buffer & Real-Time Log Viewer.Do I need to setup some sort of packet trace? Need help on setting up filters please.

10 Replies 10

Jouni Forss
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

I don't deal with ASDM that much but I do use it mainly for the same thing as you are trying to use it for which is to monitor live some connections/connection attempts.

I am not sure what the problem in this situation is. Can you confirm that you can atleast some logs on the ASDM when no filter is applied? Can you see any logs on the "Home" pages "Device Dashboard" ?

When you are looking at the logs through the actual "Monitoring" section and open the separate logging window you should see a button called "Build Filter" which provides you with different parameters with which you can filter the logs shown in the window.

If the traffic is blocked by the interface ACL you can probably even search for the logs with the Sylog ID 106023

You can naturally start by using destination/source IP address and see if you can get anything to show up. It might even be possible that the traffic is not even reaching this firewall?

- Jouni