Views
Helpful
Replies

Beginner ACL Questing regarding Internet only access

Wolfgang
Level 1
Level 1

Hey Cisco Folks!

first, forgive me i'm a absolut ASA beginner ;) - Worked with Stonesoft and PFsense before.

Follow scenario:

Inside-Interface on a ASA-5585-X with latest OS has some ACL's defined to DMZ, other MPLS networks and so on.
Default Internet Access is solved by passing all 80/443 Traffic to a Squid Proxy (Not transparent)
Now i have the requirement to let traffic pass the Inside LAN in direction to Outside but only Skype.

I saw a lot options but no option was like a "Source Inside Destination Internet Service Any"

Is it really true that i have to setup this complicated?

-Inside-Interface-
Allow DMZ Stuff and so an
Deny Management Stuff (Hopefully don't forget some other stuff....)
Allow dest any service any

And let the Firepower Processor do the rest, e.g. let the Sourcefire detect Skype and allow it and rest deny?!

Why is there no possibility to let only traffic in direction to internet pass? With Stonesoft there was a auto generated "Not Local Protected" Object and on PFSense i can let traffic flow to a interface directly. Or do i miss understand all and there is a easy what to get this on a device (2 ASA Failover pairs) which costs >120k $

Really thanks for your input!

Wolfgang

7 Replies 7

Rishabh Seth
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

On ASA there are different ways by which you can achieve access control. You can use combinations of IP, Ports to permit/ deny traffic. With the addition of FirePOWER services you have more granular control over your traffic.

Now applications such as skype can hop ports and it difficult to block with just layer 3-4 information.

Here application identification of FirePOWER can help in identifying the application and then apply the action that you want to take.

On ASA you create Policy-maps to redirect traffic for inspection by services module (FirePOWER).