Views
Helpful
Replies

Can i upgrade ASDM without upgrading IOS

danieldpt
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all.

Im pretty new to Cisco ASA so meaby this is a stupid question :)

I have a ASA 5525 that runs a old ASDM so when i want to run ASDM i get "unable to launch manager from 10.10.10.1"

But when i downgrade my Java version i can connect without problems.

So i want to upgrade my ASDM but i dont want to upgrade the IOS.

Can this bee done without problems?

It runs
Device Manager image file, disk0:/asdm-715-100.bin

Thanks.

Regards Daniel

15 Replies 15

Aditya Ganjoo
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Daniel,

Yes you do not require to upgrade the ASA IOS for ASDM upgrade.

ASDM upgrade does not even need a reload so you should be good to go.

Regards,

Aditya

Please rate helpful posts and mark correct answers.

Hi Aditya.

Thanks for the quick reply it is very welcome :)

Are you sure that it does not require a reload?

If i look here

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/asa/asa93/upgrade/upgrade93.html#28934

"Step 10 Choose Tools > System Reload to reload the ASA."

Is there a limited what version i can upgrade it to?

Regards Daniel and thanks

Hi Daniel,

No it  does not require a reload.

Just upload the ASDM image to the ASA's flash.

And then use the command asdm image disk0:/<asdm-new-image.bin>

Run show run asdm.

Check the ASDM connectivity now and it will use the new image.

Regards,

Aditya

Hi Aditya.

Okay that sound good.

Is there a easy way to see what new ASDM version there is for this ASA? The download section is a complete nightmare.

I just tryed the tool-> see for updates in ASDM (with old java) and when i login it fails meaby wroung credientals :)

Hi Daniel,

You can go to cisco.com for the latest ASDM update.

Here is the link:

https://software.cisco.com/download/release.html?mdfid=284143129&flowid=31543&softwareid=280775064&release=7.6.2&relind=AVAILABLE&rellifecycle=&reltype=latest