cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

can you please help figure out why I cannot telnet, ssh or asmd into a asa 5505 using its private IP address, with a successful remote access vpn established?

danpenforreal
Level 1
Level 1

can you please help me figure out why I cannot telne,ssh or asm into an ASA 5505 using its private ip address? I do have a succesful remote access VPN.

I can asdm in to asa from home using its public interface.  also my local pc has the same private ip as the asa 192.168.1.1). this is confusing me when pinging the 192.168.1.1. Who's responding my local or the asa? whew!! not easy this vpn thing!!!! My local pc is also getting 192.168.3.129 from the remotevpnpool. Please help!!!

Anyway, i was told the ip overlapping was no an issue.  I am a rookie with cisco products(newcomer) so Please help!! thank you in advance.

p.s.

I attaching the running config:

6 Replies 6

sean_evershed
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

This might be your problem:

telnet 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.255 inside

Try changing it to telnet 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.0 inside

Also if I was you I would consider removing this line:

telnet 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 outside

It means anyone using any IP address would be able to telnet to the outside address of your firewall.

Please remember to rate all posts that are helpful

You cannot telnet to the lowest security interface. This is by design.

so, this line "telnet 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 outside" being there will not allow to telnet to the outside itnerface. Still, makes sense to remove it.

You need to change this line as well in addition to fixing the telnet line.

http 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.255 inside -----> to reflect the correct mask 255.255.255.0

conf t

no http 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.255 inside

http 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.0 inside

You already have "management-access inside" line which is required to telnet, asdm or ssh to the inside interface when connecting via vpn.