Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ASA 5520 Failover behaviour

shekhar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

I am new to cisco Asa firewall ,, so spare me if i will ask basic doubts ..

if I want to configure ASA in Active / standby mode , then their interfaces should be in same subnet Ip.

Now , say for e.g for DMZ & inside zone I am using common subnet on both ASA.

lets say :- for DMZ 192.168.1.1/24 for primary ASA & 192.168.1.2/24 for secondary ASA

for inside 172.16.1.1/24 for primary ASA & 172.16.1.2/24 for scondary ASA.

Can I use different subnet for outside interfaces ,,lets say  1.1.1.1/24 for primary ASA & 2.2.2.2/24 for secondary ASA.???

6 Replies 6

Hi Bro

In ACTIVE/STANDBY mode, both IP Addresses MUST be in the same network address. No 2-ways about it. Here's a sample for your kind reference;

!
hostname HQPIXFW1
!
interface Ethernet0
nameif outside
security-level 50
ip address 2.2.2.1 255.255.255.248 standby 2.2.2.2
!
interface Ethernet1
nameif inside
security-level 50
ip address 172.16.1.1 255.255.255.0 standby 172.16.1.2
!
interface Ethernet2
nameif dmz
security-level 50
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0 standby 192.168.1.2
!
interface Ethernet3
description LAN/STATE Failover Interface
!

access-list acl_in extended permit ip any any
access-list acl_out extended permit ip any any

failover
failover lan unit primary <--- The other unit, change this value to "secondary"
failover lan interface failover Ethernet3
failover lan enable
failover polltime unit 1 holdtime 3
failover polltime interface 3 holdtime 15
failover key cisco123456789
failover link failover Ethernet3
failover interface ip failover 1.1.1.1 255.255.255.252 standby 1.1.1.2

no nat-control

access-group acl_out in interface outside
access-group acl_in in interface inside

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 2.2.2.6

P/S: If you think this comment is useful, please do rate them nicely :-) and select the option “This Question is Answered”

Warm regards,
Ramraj Sivagnanam Sivajanam

hi Ramraj,