Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ASA Active / Standby Failover Setup Question

Mark Cavendish
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone

This is my first time implementing this, so please excuse the basic questions. We currently have a single Firewall off a single ISP feed and we want to implement a secondary ASA for failover. The spec of the ASA is a 5540 with device manager version 6.4(5).

I have attached a diagram showing the setup I plan to implement. The red lines show the current setup and the blue lines show the new setup and the green line is the failover link.

Once I have cabled this all up, can I just verify the commands I run as it seems simple enough, but not sure I am missing something?

Step 1 - Primary ASA

ASAPRI(config)#
ASAPRI(config)# failover lan unit primary
ASAPRI(config)# failover lan interface FAILOVER G0/3
ASAPRI(config)# failover key spop123
ASAPRI(config)# failover link FAILOVER G0/3
ASAPRI(config)# failover interface ip FAILOVER 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0 standby 192.168.1.2
ASAPRI(config)# exit
ASAPRI#

Step 1 - Secondary ASA

ciscoasa#
ciscoasa# conf t
ciscoasa(config)# hostname ASASEC
ASASEC(config)#
ASASEC(config)# int g0/1
ASASEC(config-if)# ip addr 10.25.1.2 255.255.255.0 standby 10.25.1.1
ASASEC(config-if)# nameif private
ASASEC(config-if)# no shut
ASASEC(config-if)# exit
ASASEC(config)#

ASASEC(config)#
ASASEC(config)#
ASASEC(config)# failover lan unit secondary
ASASEC(config)# failover lan interface FAILOVER G0/3
ASASEC(config)# failover key spop123
ASASEC(config)# failover link FAILOVER G0/3
ASASEC(config)# failover interface ip FAILOVER 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
standby 192.168.1.2
ASASEC(config)# exit
ASASEC#

This is the bit I am having trouble understanding. Do I need to copy and paste the entire config from the Primary ASA and just amend each interface IP address to be the the next last octet? Ie on the DMZ interface it is 10.96.22.2, on the secondary should it be 10.96.22.3?

Step 3 - Bringing up interfaces & initialize

ASAPRI(config)#