Views
Helpful
Replies

Clock-Signal Repair Pictures ISR4300, ASA, ISR4400

Bernhard Roth
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

We have many devices affected by the clock-signal issues.

Cisco does replace the units with repaired/fixed ones.

I have received some ISR4321 routers with the fix applied (pictures attached).

The Cisco provided fix is of - well - mediocre quality (loose solder joints etc..) but works.

I am an EE engineer and am able to fix other routers of my customers as well (attached a picture of one of my fixes).

Spot the difference :)

Is there anyone which has received fixed ASA5506, ASA5508 and ISR4331 routers?

Please post pictures of your fix (hi-res if possible)

I ask because I would like to fix them as well (some of my customers) and avoid configuration, license etc. migration.

I am aware that I might void Ciscos warranty by this act of evil :)

Best regards,

Bernhard

85 Replies 85

Bernhard Roth
Level 1
Level 1

Nobody with a repaired ISR4331?

Bernhard Roth
Level 1
Level 1

@cisco QA

Please check your repair process!

Yesterday I received a repaired RMA unit and guess what:

Loose wire (cold solder joint) on your fix which makes it - yes - inactive.

Router will breakdown within month/weeks due to clock-signal-issue.

Is tihs what you want to do?

Is this Cisco quality?

Guess not...

William76280
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Benhardt, nice hi-res pics ;-)

Thanks for the info, since I plan to purchase one a day off eBay (not for production purposes, of course, but for lab and training - I have to train myself on IOS XR).

BTW, very bad soldering on Cisco's fix, but I think that repair center are more targeted on production volume than in quality - I had a long ago an Asus mobo repaired by one of their centers, it was easy to find that they replaced an SOT23 transistor ... :-/