Views
Helpful
Replies

Config of new ASA 5510 transparent mode

Carlomd
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new to ASA's and also since it's been a while since I configured any Cisco device, I'm re-learning most of this stuff, we got a new asa 5510 (actually a refurb) and need to get it setup into our existing network, I read it would be easier to put it in transparent mode than router if you have an existing network and dont wanna redo the whole thing.

Our current setup right now is, internet > cisco leased router(with a set of external ip's from ATT) > juniper ns25(our internal set of ip's mipped with the external) > internal network. So far I've put the asa in transparent mode and got the basics configured reading from some of the docs here and even some youtube vids, I've read the docs on transparent mode for the ASA's, one question is on the BVI 1, it won't allow me to put the same ip range as my internal, it needed a different one like right now I have 192.168.1.1 on it, I know there might be a few more things needed to get it right, here's my running conf right now, if you have any pointers or ideas to get me in the right direction, thanks in advanced.

carlo

crxasa# sh run

: Saved

:

ASA Version 9.1(2)8

!

firewall transparent

hostname crxasa

domain-name domain.com

enable password jtiwndTuzIDdTcxA encrypted

names

!

interface Ethernet0/0

nameif outside

security-level 0

!

interface Ethernet0/1

nameif inside

security-level 100

!

interface Ethernet0/2

shutdown

no nameif

no security-level

!

interface Ethernet0/3

shutdown

no nameif

no security-level

!

interface Management0/0

management-only

nameif management

security-level 100

ip address 192.168.1.1

!

interface BVI1

ip address 208.36.7.11

!

boot system disk0:/asa912-8-k8.bin

ftp mode passive

clock timezone PST -8

clock summer-time PDT recurring

dns server-group DefaultDNS

domain-name domain.com

pager lines 24

logging enable

logging asdm informational

mtu management 1500