Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Forward selected internet traffic to another site

Hi,

i am a newbie in ASA so please bear with me,

I have configured a site to site VPN between 2 sites. 

Site A can see Site B resources

Site B can see Site A resources

How can i transfer selected internet traffic from Site B to Site A?

I am using ASDM btw.

13 Replies 13

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

the crypto map which has been configured to create the VPN between the two sites will have an associated ACL. Traffic which matches the ACL will be sent via the VPN, if it doesn't it will continue on its way.

If you want to send certain internet traffic via the VPN, assuming the path to the internet goes via the interface with the crypto map applied, then all you need to do is add the required internet host IP/ subnets to the crypto map ACL.

Make sure you also update the crypto map ACL on the other site ASA so that the return traffic will be sent via the VPN.

cheers,

Seb.

Hi,

Thanks for the quick response. I have try adding a external public webpage to the cryptomap. However, it doesn't work at all - in other words, the moment i add it into my cryptomap - I could neither ping it or browser the page. Removing it, will work (because it will just use SiteB internet and reach the page).

I have also added "same-security-traffic permit intra-interface" into SiteA's ASA.

Have you added the 'reversed' ACL for the traffic flow to SiteA's crypto map?

Have you tried a packet capture on SiteA's outside interface to see if the traffic is leaving and returning on the outside interface?

Can you share the configs of the ASAs?

cheers,

Seb. 

Yup, it is checked.

I tried on packet tracer is fine both ways.

Site A can throw the public IP to B

Site B can throw the public IP to A

no issues.

I think this is to the continues query regarding the INTERNET over the VPN. 

Can you share your configuration so that we can have a clear idea.