cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IPSEC site to site VPN Issues (lab recreating real issue)

Ninjabean
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to the security world, and am having a bit of trouble.

We are trying to set up a VPN for a customer to a new vendor - and it is quite a complex (to me) design.  They have a DMZ, and basically we are trying to give the 10.2.0.0 remote subnet access to the local 10.1.1.1 machine. In the lab, I am just trying to get the basics and work up from there.

I was able to get phase 1 going, but then phase 2 said it had a mismatch.  I tried to recreate this in packet tracer, and no matter what I do I cannot get phase 2 set up in packet tracer either.  Even following step by step guides, or copying the solution from a packet tracer lab, I cannot get it to work.  

I feel like I am missing a piece - what I have so far, and I have changed this setup many many times just trying to get it work:

The attached configs are a lab environment and IPs are not real.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Are you pinging from the ASA? Ping from something inside the network on the correct subnet, to another device (not the ASA) that should bring up the vpn and there should be some matches on the nat rule.

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

Hi,

Well you've got a dynamic nat rule which would nat the traffic to the remote subnet, so you'll need a no nat rule to ensure the original source network is used rather than natting behind the outside interface.

E.g:-

nat (inside,outside) source static local_subnet local_subnet destination static remote_subnet remote_subnet

HTH

Gotcha.  Now this may just be a Packet Tracer limitation, but I can't seem to do NAT from global config mode. Is there any other way to do it? Or maybe does something else need to be enabled before I can use that command?