cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Port Forwarding for ASA Using ASDM

chuckbalogh
Level 1
Level 1

Hello.  I am a Cisco enterprise equipment newbie so I have  a newbie  question.  I am trying to setup 2 RDP port  forwards  through the ASA 5505.  I can currently RDP through the ASA with the default listening port, 3389. However, my attempts are  configuring RDP with other ports has not  panned out  at  all.  I inherited this setup so I did not originally configure the ASA. 

I am using the ASDM interface and would like to continue to do so if  possible.  The ASA is v8.2 and  the ASDM is  v6.3. 

The ASA is configured  for  1  Outside port  (10.10.30.85 - DHCP) and 3 Inside ports (10.10.30.254).  One inside port  is  connected  to a Dell PowerConnect switch which supplies a server and  4 workstations.  The  Outside  ASA port  is  connected  to an  ATT Pace  4111N-031 modem/router. 

With other  equipment, I have just configured  a port  forward and it was pretty straightforward.  I have  seen much about  using a NAT rule.  Do I/Should  ICan I/ use a NAT Rule? 

I have attached screen  shots for the NAT and Access Rules.

Thank you in advance for  your assistance

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Ok internally you can keep port 3389 but in your NAT translation, original port is set to 3396 and translated set to 3396. If you want to keep port 3389 on your server, it should be original port 3389 and translated to 3396.

Thanks

PS: Please don't forget to rate and mark as correct answer if this answered your question

Thanks
Francesco
PS: Please don't forget to rate and select as validated answer if this answered your question

View solution in original post

16 Replies 16

Francesco Molino
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

Your nat is done on outside interface but your acl is pointing to an object called WAN. You should put outside like it was done for the real rdp port.