cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Simple Port Forwarding, Single Public IP to Many Servers

metalglue
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm very new to ASA's in general, and I could use a little help. I think I have it mostly figured out but I'm still not able to open more than one port on my ASA. I'm running 8.4(1), so I'm having trouble finding guides that do not refer to pre-8.3

My topology is as simple as can be. One public address, several servers in the internal network, no DMZ. Anyway, baby steps, so to begin, I'm trying to open one port, 1111 to point to internal host 192.168.2.3, using public IP 1.1.1.1 (Not the real addresses of course). This is what I'm entering:

object network host-192.168.2.3

host 192.168.2.3

object network host-192.168.2.3-tcp1111

host 192.168.2.3

nat (inside,outside) dynamic interface

object-group service svcgrp-192.168.2.3-tcp tcp

port-object eq 1111

access-list outside_access_in extended permit tcp any object host-192.168.2.3 object-group svcgrp-192.168.2.3-tcp

access-group outside_access_in in interface outside

The above produces no errors, but the traffic gets discarded. I know the issue is in the nat command for

host-192.168.2.3-tcp1111, since on the guide I found it said to use the following line instead:

nat (inside,outside) static 1.1.1.1 service tcp 1111 1111

But that line produces the error:

ERROR: Address 1.1.1.1 overlaps with outside interface address.

ERROR: NAT Policy is not downloaded

I understand that I can't assign a static NAT to the outside interface because it will block all other services, but the dynamic statement is yielding no results either. I know this because I actually got it work for one port but it would ignore all other ACLs and NAT rules that I created for the other ports. So I deleted everything and I'm starting from scratch. This is not a production IP address, so I am free to try things. Anyway, I would appreciate some guidance. Thanks!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Jouni Forss