Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE backup hung every 15th day..

dilnaazhum
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am glad if someone help me with this.. I know we are running very old OS and unable to get support from CISCO TAC due to EOS..I am new to ISE and unable to get support..

I have seen the behavior of ISE backup hung every 15th day and once we restart the admin node backup will work as expected, today i have seen this log while executing the "sh app stat ise"

rpmdb: Thread/process 7538/139916087605152 failed: Thread died in Berkeley DB li
brary
error: db3 error(-30974) from dbenv->failchk: DB_RUNRECOVERY: Fatal error, run d
atabase recovery
error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - (-30974)

error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm

admin# sh backup status
%% Configuration backup status
%% ----------------------------
% backup name: ISEConfigBackup
% repository: abcd
% start date: Sun Apr 28 00:30:14 BST 2019
% scheduled: yes
% triggered from: Admin web UI
% host: admin
% status: Backup is in progress...
% progress %: 50
% progress message: Completing ISE Backup Staging

ISE-3395-K9 - 1.4.0.253 Patch 8..

We are working to replace with new cisco ISE node 3595 which are in full deployment method (2 Admin, 2 PSN) 

https://access.redhat.com/solutions/2148761

can any one help me on this.. 

Thanks and regards

Afeez Mali

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Arne Bier
VIP
VIP

I have not seen this one before. 

When you say "restart node" do you mean application restart, or server reboot?

Since we don't get root access to the Linux shell, you can only "rattle the cage" and see what happens next.

I would do the following in this order

Purge any logs that you don't need (to make the backup smaller)

Make sure the repository directory doesn't contain too many files (i.e. remove old files)

Delete the config backup job and create a new one

Patch to the latest release (if not already done so)

Reboot the node