cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Home network for practice

hiroshi87
Level 1
Level 1

What products can I use to set up a simple home network for practice purposes.

Background info: I have some knowledge and mostly hands on training. I’m looking to build my fundamental knowledge. The system I work on at work has been set up and it has routers, switches, servers, VMs, firewalls and honestly it’s pretty complex. I know the ins and outs of my system I’m a pretty good sys ad and net ad and have fixed some pretty complex issues however, this is just because I have learned this specific system. If I were to be asked to set up a simple home network from scratch I would struggle. I’m trying to brush up my fundamentals and my wife mentioned interest in pursuing a cyber career.

What I want: A simple network with Cisco devices that we can practice on. Only looking to hook up a printer a laptop and maybe eventually connecting it to my home internet router to hook up my device’s wirelessly but I’m more concerned about practicing and learning.

Any device suggestions, tips, and starting points would be appreciated.

7 Replies 7

Hi

Start with a virtual lab with PacketTracer or GNS3 or Eve. You dont need physical device  to learn concept.

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @hiroshi87,

Packet Tracer, GNS3, and EVE-NG are all excellent choices for setting up a virtual lab environment to practice and learn networking concepts with Cisco devices.

Packet Tracer is a network simulation tool developed by Cisco. It provides a user-friendly interface and is specifically designed for educational purposes. It offers a range of Cisco devices, including routers, switches, wireless devices, and end devices. Packet Tracer is ideal for beginners and those looking to gain hands-on experience with basic networking configurations.