cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

8821 Dropping Registration

SSGZeke
Level 1
Level 1

We purchased several 8821s to start replacing our aging fleet of 7925G phones.

The 7925G's work great, but unfortunately the 8821s are experiencing horrible issues.

They randomly drop registration and will not pick back up.  This happens whether or not the device is roaming or sitting right underneath the same access point.

We are running CUCM 9.1.2 and the phone firmware load is up to date, 11.0(3)SR4

I'm new to Cisco voice so I don't know where to start troubleshooting.  RTMT shows registration dropping for reason code 14

I've also seen the phone lose registration for several minutes, then randomly restart and pick registration back up, only to lose registration again.

25 Replies 25

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Is the wireless using Cisco gear?

@Leo Laohoo wrote:
Is the wireless using Cisco gear?

Forgot to mention in my original post, we're running Aruba AP205's terminating to a pair of 7210 controllers.

Philip D'Ath
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
It was quite a while ago, but we had issues with bugs on these. I filed several bug reports. They asked for some info, and maybe 6 months later they replied to the email asking more questions. Terrible.

I work for a Cisco partner. I got the local Cisco team to assist with escalations. Despite all the effort we could not get anything to happen. I eventually gave up trying to get the bugs fixed.

I don't say this lightly - shame on you Cisco.

Adam Hinchliff
Level 1
Level 1

We have just purchased 3 8821 handsets are experiencing registration issues every 5 minutes. The 7925 model worked great on our network. 

@Adam Hinchliff wrote:

We have just purchased 3 8821 handsets are experiencing registration issues every 5 minutes. 

Was the firmware upgraded?

Hi Leo,

Yes we are running the latest firmware release.

Could you Create a new SIP profile and with the below timers and assign to the phone and see that helps,