cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Best way to approach branch office reception call handling?

Sean K
Level 1
Level 1

Forgive the dumb question but I'm new at this (and thanks for any help). And sorry if this is more a Unity question than a CM question.

I have a CUCM BE 5000 with mostly 6941 handsets connected in my branch offices, which are mostly small. In some of the bigger offices there is a front desk/reception/admin role and these people need a more functional phone than the 6941, as they sometimes need to handle multiple simultaneous calls. For various reasons this is a 6961 rather than any other model. I want to configure their main number in such a way that it steps over say three lines, so:

- if the phone is idle, it will ring against button/line 1

- if line one is busy with an inbound or outbound call, then it will step to line 2, if both are busy, then to line 3

- after that it should move to a greeting that advises all the lines are busy, please either wait 15 seconds or press 1 to leave a message

- If the operator is on line 1 and line 2 rings, then they can tell the person they're speaking to they're going on hold, then press 2 to pick up the second call, etc.

- if the operator is busy and they don't answer line 2 (or 3) when it rings, then it must go straight to the handler/greeting.

- Oh and voicemail when left must of course light up the message waiting light and deliver the broken dial tone

I can do the call handler and 1 to leave a greeting, and with enough mucking around can probably get it to wait for 15 seconds then revert to the pilot number. And I feel like it should be easy to get the rest done too, by configuring pilot extension plus two dummy DNs on the frist 3 buttons of the phone, then setting the CFB options on each DN to step up to the next DN in sequence, and the final one plus the CFNA options to go to the call handler.

So,

DN        CFB      CFNA