Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

can we configure a PLAR no to a IP station

hy all

Since i am a beginner to this domain My doubt might be found silly but My question is can we configure a PLAR number to a IP phone and if so how can we do it  ? and if not why cant we do it ?  please do clear my doubt

Thanks in advance

P.Vishvak

Everyone's tags (1)
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Advisor

The answer is most likely "yes".  The "how" depends on what you have deployed. Can you provide the following:

1. Do you use CME or CUCM?

2. Is the station you want to originate the call from an IP phone or an analog station?

3. If analog station:

- What kind of gateway?

- If CUCM + analog station, what signaling protocol (SIP, H323, MGCP, SCCP) is the gateway using?

Regards,

Bill

HTH -Bill (b) http://ucguerrilla.com (t) @ucguerrilla

Please remember to rate helpful responses and identify

Highlighted

I am using a CUCM, the station frm where the call originates is a digital line, the gateway uses MGCP protocol.  please do tell me as to how we can configure a PLAR line to a IP PHONE.

Highlighted
Advisor

OK. For illustration purposes assume that your target extension  (the one you want to ring) is 1234/PhoneDN_PT. You can create a "plar" configuration by doing the following:

1. Create a partition:  Plar_Grp01_PT

2. Create a CSS: Plar_Grp01_CSS

3. Create a translation that is in Plar_Grp01_PT and is configured with NO DIGITS. Ensure that Urgent Priority is checked on the translation. Assign a CSS to the translation that can see PhoneDN_PT. Change called party transform to 1234

4. Assing Plar_Grp01_CSS to the MGCP GW port CSS.

Basically, the "no digit" translation can be read as "any digit". As soon as the phone goes off hook the translation in step 3 matches automatically. Since it is flagged with urgent priority, CUCM uses the translation to route the call.

HTH.

Regards,

Bill

Highlighted